Reflections on the Krka River – Croatia

A few impressions generously left to me by the slow flowing Krka’s water.

All shots were taken in 2 locations in the North and Western part of the Krka National Park.

DSC_6294 - AC Low

Fairyland

DSC_6284 - AC Low

The Fern

DSC_6285 - AC Low

Light in the Dark

DSC_6307 - AC Low

Smoke in the Water

DSC_6266 - AC Low

Stillfast

DSC_6330 - Low

Impression of Wind

DSC_6314 - AC Low

Last Light – Yin/Yang

DSC_6317 - AC Low

The Mountain Within

DSC_6274 - AC Low

Wazzoutthere

DSC_6305 - AC Low

Cotton

DSC_6288.  - AC Low

So close


6 thoughts on “Reflections on the Krka River – Croatia

  1. Trovo che tu sia una sorta di sacerdote del Bianco e Nero: credi nella sua forza e nella sua bellezza, e le evochi per noi. E trovo che a volte i tuoi titoli siano un valore aggiunto, una specie di moltiplicatore di emozione, perché non sempre arrivo da sola a “quel” significato che ti ha spinto a fare la foto: qui per esempio “Smoke in the water” e “So close”, che trovo tenerissimo. Mi piace tanto “Impression of wind” , “Yin/Yang”, e naturalmente … tutte le altre. E poi amo con gioia il giallo del sole che fa il bagno nel fiume.

  2. suddenly Krka is no longer just a pharma company, but a place of beauty! Matisse probably got inspiration from here, although no lotus flowers 🙂

  3. I have two comments. The first is that for me the black and white photos are flat and boring whereas the color photos are exciting and interesting. It is unfortunate that it takes more energy to view color photographs because we are looking at another dimension to the image which most people would rather not take the time and energy to see. Black and white images elicit different emotions than color images do. Most black-and-white images are stark,
    invoked a sense of danger and provoke sadness and those are much stronger emotions than the uplifting and
    exciting emotions produced by color photographs. When going to shows, I personally find the mixing of color and black-and-white photographs distracting because they elicit such different emotions.

    My second comment is that I had a hard time finding your abstract photographs. When I did find several loan I found them very interesting except that some of the titles identified what they were and thereby destroyed the abstract nature of the photograph for me. I label my abstract photographs with what they say to me as opposed to what they are all which leaves the viewer with a direction but not an object such such as the one you identified as rust on a plaque.

    Best wishes for your continued photography.

    • Richard, we agree on sadness being one of the key emotions that is -or can be- elicited by BW.
      To be sometimes sad and rejoice it is part of the human nature: in fact a lot of art is centered on sadness: take blues, all music in minor modality, and take most of the visual art ever.
      Anyway, Ansel Adams is not famous for having elicited sadness: he is famous because his images have a soul.

      I am a solar person, but I do not feel guilty for making use also of my non-solar emotions.

      Happy that you like my abstracts (easily reached by clicking on the “abstract tag at the bottom of this page), and you might be right on using suggestive titles; I have already picked this suggestion in some of my latest work (see my “Deserts from the sky” series at http://wp.me/p3tsEk-nm).

      On mixing color and BW, well, it is a matter of opinions: although the book goes “don’t mix” some do, and I find it acceptable when there is a thread joining all images. But I am not sure I will do it again in the future.

      Last, I do not understand your third sentence (” It is unfortunate…”): could you explain what you mean?

  4. I am sure that these views are stunning as they are. But it seems that the color always overshadows something. The owe that you experience while looking at bright green, blue, or yellow almost blinds you. What else would explain the emotions stirred by black and white photography?
    These ARE stunning images. And the idea to include just one color into a black and white palette is absolutely great. I can imagine that it would produce even bigger effect at the exhibit hall.
    I love that green in “The fern” and in “Light in the dark”, by the way.

    • Dear Irina, thank you.
      The colors of the two images you cited were real: just 2 different exposures of the same spot.
      And yes, you are right: those colors do overshadow the objects, they have to; in fact, they ARE the image, not the objects in the background.
      As I walked along the river I hardly could make out the ferns, whilest everything melted into shades of greens and yellows.
      Thank you for the suggestion of a bw exhibition with one color included: I have long been thinking about it and I will eventually do so!

Please leave a comment!

